Alaska Workers' Compensation - Fast Facts
Filing a Workers' Compensation Claim in Alaska:

A workers’ compensation claim is filed by notifying your employer of your accident. Report the injury you have sustained.See a doctor immediately to receive treatment for your work-related injury. The doctor will file an injury report that must be forwarded to your employer.Once your employer receives your doctor’s report, they will submit your claim for workers’ compensation benefits to the insurance company providing workers’ compensation insurance.If your employer does not have workers’ compensation insurance, notify the Division’s Special Investigations Unit immediately (1-888-372-8330).You have the right to obtain the services of an attorney to handle the workers’ compensation claim in the courts as provided by the law.

If you prevail on your claim before the Board, the Board will order the insurer to pay all or part of your attorney’s fees and legal costs. Your attorney cannot collect a fee of more than $300 for work done on your case without Board approval. However, the attorney can have you pay your legal costs without Board approval.

Alaska Waiting Period:
You must report your work-related injury to your employer and the Workers’ Compensation Board within 30 days of the date you became disabled.

If the insurer denies workers’ compensation benefits, you must file a written claim with the Board within two years of the date of your disablement and your knowledge of its connection with your work.

Within 21 days of the date you file your employment-related injury claim the insurer must begin benefit payment or deny your claim.

Alaska Workers' Compensation Treatment:
You may choose one licensed doctor for the treatment of your work-related injury.You may change your treating physician only once although the insurer has the right to select a physician for a second examination.The insurer may change this physician once and may request examinations by a physician other than your treating doctor periodically.If you refuse to comply with any reasonable request for examination, your right to compensation will be suspended until you agree to the terms set forth by the insurer.

Alaska Workers' Compensation Benefits:
The amount of the workers’ compensation benefit check will depend on your gross weekly earnings that are calculated based on whether you are paid by the week, month, year, day or hour. Your weekly compensation rate will be 80% of your spendable weekly wage (gross weekly earnings minus payroll tax deductions), but is subject to certain limits. The Division prepares rate tables that insurers use to determine the disability benefit rate. The rate tables are available here.

Alaska Workers' Compensation Contact Information:
Paul F. Lisankie, Director
Department of Labor Workers' Compensation Division
1111 West 8th Street, Room 307
P. O. Box 115512
Juneau, AK 99811-5512
(907) 465-2790

NOTICE: These questions and answers concern Alaska law only, and should not be construed nor relied upon as reflecting the law in other States, nor as giving legal advice. You are warned that circumstances often vary greatly and that, due to changing decisions and law, the answers to these questions may change over time and not be current, and you should consult an attorney in any specific case, and NOT rely on these questions and answers as giving anything other than general information.

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Disclaimer: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Advertising is paid for by participating attorneys and advocates. The site is not an attorney referral service. name is privately owned and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal or state government agency. The promotion of this website is sponsored exclusively by professional Workers' Compensation Attorneys and Advocacy Groups, in effort to provide services to the public for workers' compensation and injury issues.

Copyright 2012,, All Rights Reserved.