Michigan Worker’s Compensation- Fast Facts
Filing a Worker’s Compensation Claim in Michigan:

Ask your employer for a copy of the claim form to report a work injury or illness to your employer.  Many state workers compensation agencies have a standardized claim form as well.  Follow the instructions on the form, complete the "employee" section" and sign and date it.  Make sure you keep a copy for your records.  The employer will fill out the "employer" section.  You can submit the form to your employer in person or by mail, but if you use mail it is usually recommended to send it by certified mail (return receipt requested) so you have a record of the date it was mailed and received. 

Generally, your employer's workers compensation carrier or insurance company must respond with the status of your claim within a certain number of days after your file your claim.  The timeframe may vary by state.  In many states, the insurance company must provide you with a written response about your claim.  If you don't receive a response, call your employer's insurance company to find out the status of your claim. 

Michigan Worker’s Compensation Benefits:
Full medical benefits are provided to employees entitled to worker's compensation benefits, with no time or monetary limits. The employer selects the initial physician who will provide care, with the employee obtaining free choice of provider after a period defined by law.

Payments are made for temporary total disability (TTD) in an amount determined by a percentage of the worker's wage, subject to a weekly maximum payment amount. Payments continue for the duration of the disability. Benefits are subject to offsets for benefits received through unemployment insurance, Social Security, or an employer disability, retirement, or pension plan.

Payments are made for permanent total disability (PTD) based upon a percentage of the worker's wage, subject to weekly minimum and maximum payment amounts. Payments for PTD continue for the duration of the disability. Benefits may be subject to an offset for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Payments for permanent partial disability (PPD) are made based upon a percentage of the worker's wage, subject to weekly minimum and maximum payment amounts. Payments for PPD continue for the duration of the disability.

Scheduled awards are paid in addition to total temporary disability benefits starting directly after the accident.
Physical and vocational rehabilitation benefits are available.

Occupational hearing loss is not compensable, but a worker who has suffered a hearing loss may be eligible for aural rehabilitation.

Death benefits are payable to an employee's surviving spouse, or spouse and children, based upon a percentage of the employee's wages, subject to a cap. A minimum benefit is provided regardless of the employee's earnings. A burial allowance is available.

Michigan Worker’s Compensation Waiting Period:
The waiting period for compensation benefits is 7 days after the injury.

The waiting period for compensation benefits is 7 days after the injury.

Michigan Worker’s Compensation Contact Information:
Jack A. Nolish, Director
Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth
Workers’ Compensation Agency
7150 Harris Drive
P. O. Box 30016
Lansing, MI 48909
 (517) 322-1106  (517) 322-1106 or  1-888-396-5041  1-888-396-5041
(Contact: Sue Bickel)

NOTICE: These questions and answers concern Michigan law only, and should not be construed nor relied upon as reflecting the law in other States, nor as giving legal advice. You are warned that circumstances often vary greatly and that, due to changing decisions and law, the answers to these questions may change over time and not be current, and you should consult an attorney in any specific case, and NOT rely on these questions and answers as giving anything other than general information.

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Disclaimer: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Advertising is paid for by participating attorneys and advocates. The site is not an attorney referral service. WorkInjuryBenefits.net name is privately owned and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal or state government agency. The promotion of this website is sponsored exclusively by professional Workers' Compensation Attorneys and Advocacy Groups, in effort to provide services to the public for workers' compensation and injury issues.

Copyright 2012, WorkInjuryBenefits.net, All Rights Reserved.