Vermont Worker’s Compensation- Fast Facts
Filing a Worker’s Compensation Claim in Vermont:

Ask your employer for a copy of the claim form to report a work injury or illness to your employer. .  Follow the instructions on the form, complete the "employee" section" and sign and date it.  Make sure you keep a copy for your records.  The employer will fill out the "employer" section.  You can submit the form to your employer in person or by mail, but if you use mail it is usually recommended to send it by certified mail (return receipt requested) so you have a record of the date it was mailed and received. 

Attorney Fees Permitted: 20% maximum $9,000; rule

Vermont Worker’s Compensation Benefits:
Workers' compensation provides coverage for all reasonably necessary medical services and supplies related to an on-the-job injury or occupational disease. This may include not only coverage for doctors visits and hospital treatment, but also coverage for physical therapy, medication, chiropractic treatment and psychological counseling. There is no time limit on the duration of this coverage as long as the treatment is a direct result of the work injury or occupational disease.

An injury may include an aggravation of an old injury or pre-existing condition. Benefits are not allowed if an injury (a) resulted from a worker’s willful intent to harm himself or someone else, (b) occurred as a result of a worker’s intoxication, or during it, or (c) occurred because an employee failed to use a safety device provided for the purpose.

An occupational disease is one "due to causes or conditions which are characteristic of and peculiar to a particular trade, occupation, process or employment, and to which an employee is not ordinarily subjected or exposed outside of or away from his employment, and which arises out of and in the course of employment.

The employer makes the initial selection of physician. After a period of time specified by state law, the employee has free choice of treating physician.

Vermont Worker’s Compensation Waiting Period:
The waiting period for compensation benefits after the injury is 3 days.

Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for 7 days from the date of injury.

Vermont Worker’s Compensation Contact Information:
Steve Monahan, Director
Workers’ Compensation Division
National Life Building, Drawer 20
Montpelier, VT 05620-3401
 (802) 828-2286  (802) 828-2286 or  1-800-734-2286  1-800-734-2286

NOTICE: These questions and answers concern Vermont law only, and should not be construed nor relied upon as reflecting the law in other States, nor as giving legal advice. You are warned that circumstances often vary greatly and that, due to changing decisions and law, the answers to these questions may change over time and not be current, and you should consult an attorney in any specific case, and NOT rely on these questions and answers as giving anything other than general information.

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Disclaimer: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Advertising is paid for by participating attorneys and advocates. The site is not an attorney referral service. name is privately owned and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal or state government agency. The promotion of this website is sponsored exclusively by professional Workers' Compensation Attorneys and Advocacy Groups, in effort to provide services to the public for workers' compensation and injury issues.

Copyright 2012,, All Rights Reserved.