Minnesota Worker’s Compensation- Fast Facts
Filing a Worker’s Compensation Claim in Minnesota:

A workers’ compensation claim is filed by notifying your employer of your work-related injury. Report the injury you have sustained. The application for benefits is given to the employer.

If your employer declines to accept liability, you may call the Workers' Compensation Division (1-800-528-5166) and ask to speak to an Examiner.

You have the right to obtain the services of an attorney to handle the claim in the courts as provided by the law.

Minnesota Worker’s Compensation Benefits:
Payment of the medical expenses for your medical care (including emergency treatment, follow-up care, physical therapy, etc.)

Payment of expenses incurred for travel to and from doctor’s offices, physical therapy appointments, etc.

Payment of a percentage of your earnings (typically 66% of your average week wage) for the period of your disability

Payment of a lump sum amount in the event your injury results in a permanent physical impairment, or in the event you are permanently disabled from working in any capacity

Disability begins on the first day you are unable to work. However, wage loss payments are not paid for the first three days after your disability begins. In the event you are unable to work, even if intermittently, for ten days or more, you will be paid wage loss benefits from the first day of your disability.

An insurer is required to begin paying wage loss benefits within 14 days from the time that your employer is notified of your work injury. You will receive your benefits at the same intervals as you received your regular paychecks.

Minnesota Worker’s Compensation Waiting Period:
The waiting period for compensation benefits after the injury is three days.

Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for 10 days from the time of injury.

Minnesota Worker’s Compensation Contact Information:
Steve Sviggum, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry
Workers’ Compensation Division
443 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-4319
 (651) 284-5000  (651) 284-5000 or  1-800-342-5354  1-800-342-5354
(Contact: Brian Zaidman)

NOTICE: These questions and answers concern Minnesota law only, and should not be construed nor relied upon as reflecting the law in other States, nor as giving legal advice. You are warned that circumstances often vary greatly and that, due to changing decisions and law, the answers to these questions may change over time and not be current, and you should consult an attorney in any specific case, and NOT rely on these questions and answers as giving anything other than general information.

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Disclaimer: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Advertising is paid for by participating attorneys and advocates. The site is not an attorney referral service. WorkInjuryBenefits.net name is privately owned and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal or state government agency. The promotion of this website is sponsored exclusively by professional Workers' Compensation Attorneys and Advocacy Groups, in effort to provide services to the public for workers' compensation and injury issues.

Copyright 2012, WorkInjuryBenefits.net, All Rights Reserved.