Nevada Worker’s Compensation- Fast Facts
Filing a Worker’s Compensation Claim in Nevada:

If you become injured at work, you should immediately file a workers compensation claim, but you should not proceed on such a claim without the help of an attorney who specializes in workman’s comp insurance claims in the state of Nevada.

One means of finding help on a workers compensation claim--which is generally underutilized--is contacting your State's Bar Association Group. State bars traditionally keep a statewide list of attorneys and their areas of practice, including workers compensation law.

Additionally, bar groups can help potential clients find workman’s comp representation through the use of a attorney, lawyer locater program.

To find the best qualified legal representation for your workmen's comp case---in addition to using the standard means such as searching directories, relying on good referrals, and searching online---this is sometimes a beneficial option.

Though these offices are essentially just a means of referral, after gathering detailed information from you regarding your workman's comp case, they can, in some instances, assist you in finding a lawyer who can help you win your workers compensation benefits.

Nevada Worker’s Compensation Treatment:
Your doctor's report will have a big impact upon the benefits you receive. Keep in mind that a doctor paid for by your employer's insurance company is not your friend. The desire to get future business from your employer or the insurance company may motivate a doctor to minimize the seriousness of your injury or to identify it as a preexisting condition. For example, if you injure your back and the doctor asks you if you have ever had back problems before, it would be unwise to treat the doctor to a 20-year history of every time you suffered a minor pain or ache. Just say "no" unless you really have suffered a significant previous injury or chronic condition.

Nevada Worker’s Compensation Benefits:
The workers' compensation system provides replacement income, medical expenses, and sometimes, vocational rehabilitation benefits -- that is, on-the-job training, schooling, or job placement assistance. The benefits paid through workers' compensation, however, are almost always relatively modest.

If you become temporarily unable to work, you'll usually receive two-thirds of your average wage up to a fixed ceiling. But because these payments are tax-free, if you received decent wages prior to your injury, you'll fare reasonably well in most states. You will be eligible for these wage-loss replacement benefits as soon as you've lost a few days of work because of an injury or illness that is covered by workers' compensation.

If you become permanently unable to do the work you were doing prior to the injury, or unable to do any work at all, you may be eligible to receive long-term or lump-sum benefits. The amount of the payment will depend on the nature and extent of your injuries. If you anticipate a permanent work disability, contact your local workers' compensation office as soon as possible; these benefits are rather complex and may take a while to process.

Nevada Worker’s Compensation Waiting Period:
The waiting period for compensation benefits after the injury is 5 days.

Compensation is retroactive if disability continues for 5 or more consecutive days, or 5 or more cumulative days with- in a 20-day period

Nevada Worker’s Compensation Contact Information:
Roger Bremner, Administrator
Division of Industrial Relations
400 W. King Street, Suite 400
Carson City, NV 89703
 (775) 684-7260  (775) 684-7260
*Nancy Wong (for Profile Updates)

NOTICE: These questions and answers concern Nevada law only, and should not be construed nor relied upon as reflecting the law in other States, nor as giving legal advice. You are warned that circumstances often vary greatly and that, due to changing decisions and law, the answers to these questions may change over time and not be current, and you should consult an attorney in any specific case, and NOT rely on these questions and answers as giving anything other than general information.

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Disclaimer: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Advertising is paid for by participating attorneys and advocates. The site is not an attorney referral service. name is privately owned and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the U.S. Department of Labor or any other federal or state government agency. The promotion of this website is sponsored exclusively by professional Workers' Compensation Attorneys and Advocacy Groups, in effort to provide services to the public for workers' compensation and injury issues.

Copyright 2012,, All Rights Reserved.